Cinema as reincarnation

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Cinema as flickering shadows]

How is this film about cinema?

Cinema is reincarnation. In this film, it is not only a matter of the guy who remembers his past life, it is also my own remembrance of my past life, part of myself. My father died of kidney failure. The bedroom in the film is an assimilation of my father’s space; re-incarnating my own memory, my childhood. I like the idea of the link between death and childhood memory. Consider Marcel Proust who spends the bulk of his book speaking about his childhood. It is not true when we are old, we lose our memory, we still have childhood memories, and childhood is about fantasy, ghosts.

(Apichatpong Weerasethakul)

Υ.Γ Βλέπε και δύο post πιο πριν.

Σχολιάστε

